Past Results

The Festival Results pages show you the detailed results for each year, with 1st, 2nd and 3rd places in open and confined sections as well as best actor/actress and adjudicators awards.

Full length drama festival

2019: Doonbeg hosted the All Ireland Finals
2020: No results, finished early due to COVID
2021: No Festival due to COVID

YearSectionAdjudicatorBest ActorBest ActressBest Director
2023ConfinedIrene O’MearaRobert Holden, The Ray Leonard PlayersLiz Browne, St. Patricks Drama GroupSeamus Cafferkey
2023OpenIrene O’MearaPat Loughnane, Thurles Drama GroupMary Clancy, Corofin Dramatic SocietyMargaret McCormack
2022ConfinedImelda McDonaghIggy Bowes, Clan Machua Drama GroupCarmel O’Driscoll, Skibbereen Theatre SocietySeamus Corry
2022OpenImelda McDonaghSean Aherne, Palace PlayersMary Colbert, Palace PlayersDanny Buckley
2018ConfinedIrene O’MearaCon Connolly as “Stanley” & Tom Holian as “DimitriRhonwen Hayes as “Susan”Mary Cox
2018OpenIrene O’MearaLiam Howard as “Brick”Lisa Clancy as “Laila”Maura Clancy
2017ConfinedImelda McDonaghJohn Keane as “Bernard”Dympna Shalloo as “Her ”Andrew Killeen
2017OpenImelda McDonaghBrian McCarthy as “Actor 1”Saoirse Byrne as “Dawn”Denis O’Sullivan
2016ConfinedNed DempseyEaven BrennanSally Stevens
2016OpenJohn O'LearyReidin DunneStephen Acton
2013ConfinedPadraic McIntyreVincent Moran as Big Story HanniganDumpna Salloo as Effie PalmerCaoimhe McLaughlin
2013OpenPadraic McIntyreAidan O'Gara as "Husband"Mary Power Cooney as "Mary"Deirdre Goodwin
2012ConfinedAilbhe Garvey-HughesJames Kearon as "Luka"Catriona Grady as "Hattie"Kevin Duignan
2012OpenAilbhe Garvey-HughesEdward Dillon as "Frank"Eilis Casey as "Margaret"Joe Canavan
2011ConfinedPaul BrennanPeter Daffy as "Jack"Margaret Whelan as Josie ConnorsEileen Lahiffe
2011OpenPaul BrennanMartin Blower as "Ben"Helena Stout as Anne BaileyJackie O'Shea
2010ConfinedAilbhe Garvey-HughesEdward Dillo as "Duff"Eilis Casey as "Beth"Pauline Maloney
2010OpenAilbhe Garvey-HughesMIck Loughnane as ClaudiusJoanne Geary as MillyBerna Gordon
2009ConfinedPaul BrennanPat O'Reilly as "Jack Dollan"Mags Clancy as "Di"Pauline Maloney
2009OpenPaul BrennanBill Elliffe as "Bernard"Susan Anderson as "Jude"Frank Houlihan
2008ConfinedNora RelihanEdward Dillon as "Father"Mary Brown as "Sheila"Des Waters
2008OpenNora RelihanPatrick Mahood as BunnyUrsula Brennan as Norma HubleyTom Walsh
2007ConfinedPaddy CollinsDee Foxe
2007OpenCiara O' DriscollPat McEneaney

1 act drama festival

2019: Doonbeg hosted the All Ireland Finals
2020: No results, finished early due to COVID
2021: No Festival due to COVID

2023Dear FrankieSt. Patricks Drama GroupCONFINED
2023The SeafarerThurles Drama GroupOPEN
2022SiveClann Machua Drama GroupCONFINED
2022ChapattiPalace PlayersOPEN
2018The Stanley ParkersRoscommon Drama GroupCONFINED
2018Where is this MalabarPalace PlayersOPEN
2017Last Tango in DoonbegDoonbeg Drama GroupCONFINED
2017A Day in the Life of a PencilKilmeen Drama GroupOPEN
2016The Quiet LandCoolgreany Drama GroupCONFINED
2016Me and My FriendRasper PlayersOPEN
2013Chasing ButterfliesCompántas LirCONFINED
2013Holy MaryThe Moat ClubOPEN
2012The BearMasquerade Drama GroupCONFINED
2012PlayInsight Theatre GroupOPEN
2011What’s for PuddingCorofin Dramatic SocietyCONFINED
2011The Dumb Waiter3 in 1 Drama GroupOPEN
2010LandscapeShannonside Drama GroupCONFINED
2010Positive Dead PeopleHaulbowlineOPEN
2009Mickey Kannis Caught My EyeShannonside Drama GroupCONFINED
2009Semper FidelisInsight Theatre GroupOPEN
2008Plaza SuitePhoenix PlayersOPEN
2007In the Shadow of the GlenENNIS PLAYEROPEN